Gameday: Amerks Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony; vs Pirates

The Rochester Americans will hold their 23rd Hall of Fame induction ceremony this afternoon inducting Randy Cunneyworth, Jim Wiemer, and Kent Weisbeck.  It’ll be a good day hearing great stories from some of the greats in Amerks history.

Hopefully the players and coaches will hear what’s said and take it as motivation into the game to prove that one day this years team will be considered one of the best.  It’ll be tough as the Amerks still try to find their way and the Pirates are looking to continue with their franchise record breaking winning streak.

I’m going to hold off from saying anything else and stay positive, it’s not easy to do.  We’ll see what happens today during the game.  If you feel like venting or reading about others vent you can check out this link (Amerks Management – WAKE UP!!) and this link (Has Anyone Seen Enough of these Clowns Yet?) which are posts on local message board

The on ice portion starts at 3:08 so the actual game won’t start until everything else is taken care of.  I mention that because in previous years people who have not cared have commented about the late start time, now you know.  Here’s the rest of the details:

The festivities will begin at 1:10 p.m. with a ribbon-cutting by Amerks Owner and CEO Curt Styres to open the Amerks Hall of Fame. The structure, which is housed in the upper atrium bar area, includes a plaque for all 48 members, a collage dedicated to the Class of 2010 and a collage of the 23 classes of Hall of Famers. The display was designed and built by Exhibits and More.

Following the opening of the Hall of Fame, Cunneyworth and Wiemer will sign autographs from 1:20 to 2:20 p.m., courtesy of the Seneca Gaming Corporation Amerks Legends Series. Fans will have the opportunity to receive one free autograph from each player by simply signing up for the free Seneca Gaming Players Club card, with no purchase necessary, at the Seneca Gaming kiosk located inside the main entrance of The Blue Cross Arena.

At 2:30 p.m., the 46th, 47th and 48th members of the Hall of Fame will be enshrined during a pregame ceremony in the Amerks Hall of Fame area. The on-ice portion starts at 3:08 p.m. with the introduction of past Amerks Hall of Famers and alumni members. Cunneyworth, Wiemer and Weibeck will then receive their plaques from Amerks Owner and CEO Curt Styres, VP of Hockey Operations Ted Nolan, and Amerks Hall of Famer and Director of Hockey Operations Jody Gage. The three inductees will then participate in the ceremonial faceoff.

Cunneyworth will enter the hall with the distinction of beginning and ending his playing career in Rochester, while also beginning his head coaching career. In all, he spent 15 seasons with the Rochester Americans, seven as a player (1981-86, 1998-00) and eight as a head coach (2000-08). In 2004-05, he was named the winner of the Louis A.R. Pieri Memorial Award as the AHL’s outstanding coach. Wiemer joins his former Rochester teammate in the Hall of Fame. The rugged defenseman played parts of five seasons (1981-85, 1994-95) with the Amerks. Athletic Trainer Kent Weisbeck will go into the Hall of Fame in his 25th season of service to the club. In the past 24 years, he has earned two Calder Cup rings (1987 and 1996) and has worked in the Calder Cup Finals on five other occasions.

See you at the game, Let’s Go Amerks!